My Terrifying Imagination is More Frightening than Yours: Part II

As we all know, any good horror movie just wouldn’t be right without a sequel to capitalize on it’s fresher, more interesting predecessor; Such is the case with “My Terrifying Imagination” (Check out the original here) In the first I talked about events and movie moments that weren’t really scary at all, but left me scarred beyond all belief. This time around I would like to move to other aspects of why my imagination is awful, but first I have to talk about one more movie. This one was the Granddaddy of all scary movies, and as a teenager this movie left a scar that I still haven’t quite lived down. That movie was “The Ring”

Oh boy... here we go....

Oh boy… here we go….

If you are a horror fan and haven’t seen “The Ring,” then I don’t know what is the matter with you. If you aren’t a horror fan and haven’t seen it, then I still don’t know what the matter is with you. At the time it was released in 2002, I was at a prime age to be emotionally pulverized by a horror movie. I knew “The Ring” would mess with my mind long before I ever went to see it. In fact, I very vividly remember seeing the trailer for the ring, when I went to see a lesser horror movie, Signs, with my family. When I saw the trailer, it screwed with my head by myself. I remember my mind telling me “Do not go see this movie. You WILL be traumatized.”

"You see this?" said my mind. "I will not forgive you if you watch this." And believe me. It didn't ever forgive...

“You see this?” said my mind. “I will not forgive you if you watch this.” And believe me. It didn’t ever forgive…

And I was in no mood to argue with my imagination. By this time in my life, My imagination and I had an understanding. I had already been traumatized by all those previously mentioned “not horror” movies, and we knew that it was just going to be bad for us. I simply would not see it.

… And then peer pressure happened…

And images like this would be forever burned into my psyche

And images like this would be forever burned into my psyche

My friends all wanted to go. they decided that we all needed to go together. since I was not of driving age yet, but my older friend was, I had to go with him or stay home alone. And I didn’t want to stay home alone. So in spite of my better judgement, I went. And my Imagination reminded me the entire way to the theater, and all the way through the previews, that I would be punished.

Now, at some point I’ll write a review detailing why I think “The Ring” remains the greatest horror movie of all time, but for now, let me just tell you: Me and my group of wuss friends did not want to go to bed after the movie was over. So we did the only thing we could do to feel safe and strong: We went to a friend’s house to play “Halo.” And that worked… for my friends… Slowly the fear and tension of the movie wore off. I even felt safe. But then my friend dropped me off at home. And my imagination sprung to life.

I was afraid of everything. I was afraid of dreams. I was afraid of my T.V. I was as afraid to go into the basement of our house as I was when I was five. I was afraid of long black hair. I was afraid of blank videocassettes. My imagination wouldn’t let me live that movie down.

I'm serious... You have no idea how much this movie messed with me...

I’m serious… You have no idea how much this movie messed with me…

I remember that several weeks later, when my sanity had just about returned, my terror came back with a vengeance…

Now, have you ever been dreaming, and realized that you were dreaming, but that there was nothing you can do to stop it? That was the case one fateful night, with one of the most vivid nightmares I’d ever had. I dreamed that I was downstairs in our house, watching TV, flipping through the channels, all alone. suddenly my mind told me: Something is wrong. Stop changing channels. you need to get away.” But as with any dream, you just can’t stop yourself. So I kept flipping… until I got to static… and then the worst happened: that evil, foul, television ruining ghost girl appeared and started coming after me. Fortunately I woke up before she could “Freddy Krueger” me, but the psychological damage had already been done. I was back to square one. and my imagination started the messing all over again.

He had the right idea. But it was much scarier with Samara

He had the right idea. But it was much scarier with Samara

to this day, over a decade after I saw that movie for the first time, I admit that I can still psych myself out about it. My friend, the same one who pressured me into going to the movie in the first place, bought it for me for my birthday, even though I told him I absolutely never wanted to see it again. (Unfortunately I never considered finding new friends). For awhile I was afraid of the DVD. As if it had some strange, paranormal power to bring the evil Samara out of my TV to drag me into whatever hell is reserved for ghost people trapped inside a television set.

Now, me viewing “The Ring” has not yielded entirely awful results in the aftermath. Two good things came as a result: the first was that I worked up a little more emotional and mental fortitude against later horror movies I would see. though some trauma has occurred in viewing other horror movies, they didn’t have the same impact as this one. The other positive result was that out of “The Ring” came my single greatest (and certainly the meanest) prank I ever orchestrated. I’ll have to tell you about that some other time.

I don't know if it makes me feel better or worse that this is the girl that has had me psychologically traumatized all these years...

I don’t know if it makes me feel better or worse that this is the girl who has had me psychologically traumatized all these years…

And I’ll have to continue with my terrifying imagination, because there’s still more you must know if you want to understand just how awful it is. So stay tuned to understand all the ways My terrifying imagination is more frightening than yours.

 

2 thoughts on “My Terrifying Imagination is More Frightening than Yours: Part II

  1. Pingback: My Terrifying Imagination is More Frightening than Yours | The Catchy Blog

  2. Pingback: My Terrifying Imagination is More Frightening Than Yours: Part III: The Dark | The Catchy Blog

Leave a Reply

