POST #50! 5 SOMEWHAT USEFUL THINGS I’VE LEARNED ABOUT BLOGGING SO FAR

Well, believe it or not, I’ve reached my 50th post on the Catchy Blog! It’s been something of a long road with about 6 months or so of actual blogging (over a year if you’re counting real-time. I already almost let the blog die once. It was serious stuff up here) but I have to say I’ve learned at least a few things so far. some of them are significant. Others are pretty inconsequential. All have shaped the development of how I write, style, and publicize my little blog. Of the many things I’ve learned, here are 5 of the most important.

Like Butt Fumbler here, I've had a lot to learn about my trade. Hopefully things are going better for me than they are for him

Like Butt Fumbler here, I’ve had a lot to learn about my trade. Hopefully things are going better for me than they are for him

5. I learned to embed videos from Youtube into my posts!

Now I know what you’re thinking: “This is stupid. I knew how to do that from like, day 1! Why is it such a big deal for this idiot that he finally figured out how to put videos in his posts!?!?!? I thought he was going to share something meaningful he learned in this post! Totes lame!!!!!”

First off, you’re a jerk. Good for you that you knew how to get videos right into your posts from the start. But I couldn’t get it to work. The links were all fidgety, and I kinda gave up. But now that I have it figured out, it totally has changed the aesthetic of the blog: for instance, take my review of this year’s Super Bowl commercials. In that post, you had to click nasty links that took you all the way to other websites, and then you watched the video there. NOW, I can put the video right in the post for your pleasure. I can force you (or at least vigorously persuade you) to watch weird videos like this:

Needless to say, next years Super Bowl commercial review will be fantastic. And I already have a few more things up my sleeve that will make your Super Bowl weekend that much more enjoyable. I know. I’m a swell guy. And to think less than a few minutes ago you thought I was an idiot!

4. The Blog post proofreader is a jerk.

Now I see you getting ready to leave. Just hold on right there!!!! This is a real issue. The blog proofreader is great. It helps catch errors in spelling and grammar that I might have otherwise missed. But it also creates a moral dilemma. Do I follow it’s suggestions for changing that word? or do I just keep it, because that word feels like what I would say in actual conversation (no matter how absurd the word may be) Sometimes I feel like the proofer is helpful, but other times I feel like it’s trying to turn my blog into some kind of robot. Let me tell you something, WordPress!!! My blog may be a lot of things, but C3PO it is not (and man was he annoying in Episode II… and Episode V…) So yeah. This is true. And when I hit the publish button, it will inevitably turn into another argument between me and the proofreader.

This is what I imagine happening when you read my blog. The proofreader is out to ruin that outcome!!!

This is what I imagine happening when you read my blog. The proofreader is out to ruin that outcome!!!

3. It’s important to read other people’s stuff. But it’s so hard to find a blog I actually like.

Blogging, as we all know, is as much about community as it is about attention (don’t give me that look. You know you like the attention blogging gives you) and I try to find new blogs that I enjoy to read. But holy snuffaluffagus is it hard to find them. Even blogs that are well followed are crap more than half the time (I’ve already complained about that. If you want to hear me whine some more, click here!). And I don’t want to click the follow button unless I’m confident that 1. This person will post quality, interesting stuff that I’ll actually want to read, and 2. that this person won’t make me scream at the computer for confusing to and two, or your and you’re (I know. I’ve done it too. I shouldn’t be such a hypocrite. But I believe good blogging is based securely in hypocrisy… wait… no… that’s not right… whatever)

Seriously! Sometimes reading and searching for blogs is harder than writing! And I know I'm not as good at writing as I think I am!!!!

Seriously! Sometimes reading and searching for blogs is harder than writing! And I know I’m not as good at writing as I think I am!!!!

After all. Blogging is supposed to be enjoyable, and it’s not healthy reading if it makes me want to find your home and punch your computer screen to death (’cause I can’t do it to mine. Are you kidding? I can’t afford to replace that!

2. Publicizing a blog is so hard.

Seriously. Especially if you’ve made rules for yourself, like “keep the blog anonymous” and “Don’t post anything to your own wall.” I won’t even like my own blog on Facebook, for fear of someone suspecting that I am the mastermind. I’m sure anyone who sees the one like I have on Facebook is gonna be suspicious that it’s him, but it’s not. He only wishes he could write such incessant drivel. (By the way. Go click the like button so you get my posts and other fun stuff on Facebook. I promise I will make sure your news feed never ever gets boring!). It’s been so hard to get people to read my blog, because I’ve made it so hard for people to actually see my blog. But It makes it all the more rewarding when someone else does decide that my blog is worth following, and I hope it will get easier as my friends and followers grow!

I know you’re thinking “Why even create a Facebook page if you aren’t even going to share it with your Facebook friends?” well all I can say is that it truly is part of the master plan, my friend. And the plan truly is master! … -ful…

1. Writing and growing the blog really is rewarding, Success is about good writing, but it also takes a bit of luck and timing!!

I really do appreciate all of my little group of followers. at some point over the past month’s you said, “hey, there is a lot of crap in the blogosphere. But this guy’s crap is less bad than all the other crap.”

Seriously, though, thanks for sticking around, and for your feedback. This has been a fun challenge to see how I can make the blog grow, and I really do appreciate anyone who clicked the follow button, and especially those of you who keep reading. I keep trying to think of new ways to keep the blog interesting. I really enjoy the feedback from my followers.

See? I may be totally lame. But I’m also sentimentally lame! But you guys rock! all of you! Thanks for being here to watch my blog grow, change and evolve. We’re only 50 posts in, and the process has already been crazy exciting!!!! Keep on coming back for more!

Yup. You. Follower person! You read this far, which makes me love you. Not the creepy kind of stalker love, but the good kind of love. The Blogger kind

Yup. You. Follower person! You read this far, which makes me love you. Not the creepy kind of stalker love, but the good kind of love. The Blogger kind

8 thoughts on “POST #50! 5 SOMEWHAT USEFUL THINGS I’VE LEARNED ABOUT BLOGGING SO FAR

  1. Charity

    # 3. Oh yes….
    I’ve found a couple I enjoy. But food gravy! For every one post I like, I’ve begun reading/skimmed/read about 20 that make me want to despair over the future of the written word! I’ve found a few gem bloggers. But they are rather difficult to find.

    Reply
  2. Wayne

    That is about right and I will have to try that proof reader thing to see if it helps (have missed it in my year and half out here). I was anonymous in the beginning as well- I don’t know if that hurts or helps with getting your message out…people seem to be less wary about latching on if they have a name, face and general location to put you at. Some of my best blogging friends I know only by City…and that is fine.

    Reply
    1. elmerfgantry Post author

      You’ll have to let me know what you think of the proof reader when you use it. Sometimes I think it’s helpful, other times it seems like a nuisance.

      Yeah that makes sense about anonymity. Obviously I could guilt a few friends into following my blog if I told everyone, but at Least for now this is much more fun. What made you switch from anonymous authorship?

      Reply
      1. Wayne

        I just figured the people I know in real life would not care and for the most part that is true. Except for a few music friends that like to tell me how wrong I am in person and never leave a comment :)…I am also at this stage in my life where I feel it is time to “come out” and be my bad self-because I got nothing to hide from now. In the words of Spinal Tap “It’s a freeing up….people should envy us- I envy us”

Leave a Reply

