But Really, What Do You Want Us to Do About All This Fat?

So my classical music loving friends started passing around this article from NPR about how Classical world can’t do anything but Fat shame women. now, there are plenty of actors of both genres that maybe could stand to lose a few pounds, but it is interesting to note, once again, how focused critics and writers are on the extra rolls of the women, while the men don’t get the same unfortunate criticism. Man we be sexist.

With that said, and while I agree that we need to be nicer and focus less on people’s appearance, especially women, I do have another thought that pops into my head: Yes. We should be nice. But still… shouldn’t we admit that weight is an issue? For men and women? 

Look, I know I’ve got a few extra pounds that I need to get rid of (and by a few I mean fifty, but who’s counting anyway?) And while I don’t appreciate people coming up to me and pulling crap like this: (sorry video quality is so poor)

I still can’t help but feel like “What do you want people to do? If someone comes up to me and asks about my weight. Yes, I know, I’m a dude, so I don’t get it, because as the above article illustrates, it’s much worse for women. But still, I don’t feel like talking about people’s weight should be so taboo. I think we need to address our weight problems, and to some degree, stop being so friggin’ sensitive (Again, I say this as someone who knows I need to lose 50 pounds.

Is there away to talk about the elephant in the room (no, really, if I didn’t know better, I’d say that is a legitimate elephant!!!!). It’s a complicated subject: Some people have physical ailments that make it hard to lose weight, and that makes the issue harder. But here’s the thing folks. I know that I’m not the only one who is a tad overweight for one main reason: I need to cut it out with the junk food. I love going to eat at fast food. I love candy bars and Skittles and Starbursts and cookies and animal crackers and sandwiches with 3 patties and 9 slices of meat. I’m a quintessential chubby american. And I’m aware that dietary changes would probably fix me. And for those for whom eating better by itself isn’t the solution? Well I bet your doctor could recommend some sort of something that could help. It’s not like we can’t take the time to be a little healthier, right?

So why not bring it up? I mean, yes, be sensitive. Don’t be mean. But you can acknowledge it. I do. In fact, I’ll probably beat you to it. Because I’m a self-deprecating nut job!!!!

I dunno… maybe it’s too complicated… maybe I don’t get it because I don’t have the perspective of the other gender and how they are treated… And I get that weight loss is a bit of a catch 22 because there’s always someone skinnier, more fit, more beautiful, etc. And if there isn’t someone like that in your neighborhood then you just have to check out some of the recent Hollywood flicks.

This is completely unfair... I mean. I'm not gay... but I look at this and I'm like... ya know, maybe...?  (side note, this particular meme deserve a-whole-nother post all on it's own. But we'll come back to that some other time

This is completely unfair… I mean. I’m not gay… but I look at this and I’m like… ya know, maybe…?
(side note, this particular meme deserve a-whole-nother post all on it’s own. But we’ll come back to that some other time

Look, I get that this is the character, But does miss Lawrence really need to flaunt how much better she is than the rest of us like that? In other news, I hear the new X-Men Movie is fantastic!

Look, I get that this is the character, But does miss Lawrence really need to flaunt how much better she is than the rest of us like that?
In other news, I hear the new X-Men Movie is fantastic!

I guess I don’t know what to do. This post went no-where fast. I just wish we could talk about these “sensitive issues” without someone going nuts about how insensitive we are… So there. You have it. Aren’t you glad you read this? Aren’t you glad at the end of this post that I made no final conclusion about what to be done? Tell me what you think! Is there a way to bring up someone’s weight without coming off as a senseless douche? Am I way out of line here? Am I a Senseless douche? I’d love you know your thoughts. Tell me. One fatty to another. What do you think about all this? Don’t hold anything back. I’m ready for it!

2 thoughts on “But Really, What Do You Want Us to Do About All This Fat?

  1. BTW07

    In my experience, I’ve come to find that it really depends on the person. When some people are more willing and accepting to talk about their weight, especially if they hope to lose weight, it’s a lot easier to talk about the subject because they hope to make changes. I think it also helps to have a great support system. A few years ago, I really got serious about losing weight and changing my eating habits and lost 25 pounds, went from a size 8/10 to a size 2/4. At first, some people didn’t understand why I wanted to lose weight, but when they saw my progress and changes, their attitudes changed. Now, some of my friends are more comfortable to talk about weight loss with me, and I’m more than happy to offer advice.

    Reply
    1. elmerfgantry Post author

      Thanks for your thoughts and for stopping by. I think you make a great point that it depends on the person. I should probably bear that in mind. I have trouble when I feel like I have to tiptoe around people and issues. I’m not good at being careful 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

